A request to @WordPress…


Hello WordPress.com,

I hope you are doing well today. Spring has sprung in my neck of the woods, and I hope it is doing the same where you are.

Today (4/1/2016), I have discovered something pretty cool, the WordPress desktop app for Windows, and it’s perfect.

I don’t like to use the online editor in a browser, mainly because I sometimes need the browser off at times so I can focus on my work (Game design, VB.Net Programming), and there have been times that I close the tab for wordpress by accident – I have on average  20-25+ tabs open at one time, and I end up closing the wordpress tab every time.

It’s not fun.

But this desktop app…oh man. It’s exactly what I needed for my blogging. I used to use Windows Live Writer, but it’s out of date and I don’t think it’s going to get updated anytime soon. Since 2013, I have been trying to find a replacement for WLW, and now by complete accident, I stumbled onto this little gem of yours.

Now I can edit my blog the way I want without worrying about my broswer tabs AND can edit the blog settings all at once.

This is exactly what I wanted. To this end I ask for only one thing, and I do apologize if I come off as desperate:

PLEASE DON’T GET RID OF THE DESKTOP APP!

I’ve had so many desktop apps disappear since Windows 10 was released, and they were great, but some of their newer apps are quite lackluster. A good example: Tweetdeck from Twitter. They are getting rid of the Desktop version very soon, and relying on the web browser version has been disappointing.

I so need this app for the desktop, as it saves me a lot of trouble and hassle, so please keep working on it, improving it as needed and fixing bugs as they are discovered.

It would mean the world to me if you did that, as it makes blogging easier for me.

I thank you so much for taking the time to read this.

Take care, WordPress.
–Patrick Blake Mason

Leave a Reply

