Dear Rachel Dolezal (@_racheldolezal)…


Correction: The earlier release of this blog post, had the sentence “Transracial is not a real thing.” – this was incorrect, and is a left over from a very early draft, BEFORE any research had been done. Transracial IS a real thing, and Rachel Dolezal’s definition is grossly incorrect. I regret the error.

Dear Rachel Dolezal,

I am a black man. I was born that way. Both my parents are black, and thus so am I. I know that racism is still a problem in this day and age, and I once dealt with it very briefly in my life. I know that racial profiling exists, and there are people who judge others by their ethnicity and skin color…

But despite all of that,  I am proud to be black. I am proud of the color of my skin. I ‘m comfortable in the skin I’m in.

I know that we all envision how we want to look, and even how we want our lives to be, i.e. the dream life, but it’s just that –  a dream. While I respect your passion for the black community, and your interest in its culture and history, I must tell you that I am disappointed in how you went  getting into it.

You are NOT black, or  African-American or whatever terminology that is politically correct these days. You seem to be a smart person, who many skills and talents, so why pretend to be something you clearly are not?

We are all born the way we are. Our sexual identity, our likes and dislikes, our persona, our strengths and weaknesses, and the color of our own skin – we were born this way.

You can’t keep this going anymore. Because while you are doing so, you are also being prejudiced against your own people…and I’m not referring to the black community when I say that.

You are a white woman – there is no denying that. We all see it and know it. You know this to be true too, and to me, there is nothing wrong with that. So why rebel against it? Why deny it? Why be racist against your own ethnic group?

The NAACP was more than willing to stand by you after the truth came out, and from what I read, I don’t think they were doing to fire you at all, so why resign? I think it would  have been amazing and progressive for a white person to be part of the NAACP, in strong support of the black community. I think that would have been awesome, and I , a man of color, would have had ZERO ISSUES with that.

I cannot and will not  try to tell you how to live your life. If you choose to continue on living like this, on your head be it. But please, PLEASE don’t pretend to be something you are not. You are not just lying to everyone else, but you are lying to the one person that matters the most: Yourself.

Be comfortable and accepting of the skin you live in. Stereotypes mean nothing. Be you. The real you. Good luck.

-Patrick Blake Mason

Leave a Reply

