“Television for Women” ??? Yeah Right.


Note: this is a short rant, but it does have a long-lasting point.

Yesterday, I discovered two things:

1. I have Lifetime and the Lifetime Movie Network on my TV Service

and

2. Lifetime and the LMN sucks ass.

 

I watched these channels for a few hours. I watched about 2 1/2 movies on LMN and about 4 shows on Lifetime, and discovered that the movies on both networks are pure crap. They all pretty much start out in one of three ways:

A married woman with a good husband

A married woman with an abusive husband

A Single woman who has a fling/boyfriend who’s fucking nuts.

I did some research into this, and discovered that a vast majority of the movies start out like this. Where is the fucking variety ?!

As for the TV Shows on Lifetime, I will admit that its good they show “Reba” and “Strong Medicine” I like those shows, but all the other stuff is lacking. And “Project Runway” should either go back on Bravo or just get cancelled. There I said it.

Don’t get me wrong, I know that there are women who actually enjoy watching this kind of stuff, but I also know that there are women who want more. Lifetime should have “REAL Television for REAL Women”

Let’s start with Original Programming – How about making a show called “Hunks” – every night, viewers can call in or go online and vote for which guy they want to see get them all hot and bothered. They could do chores, perform stunts, or even dance like a Chippendale for the ladies. The Ratings would SOAR like an eagle on the pilot episode.

Another show they could make: “Choice Words” – A 20-something woman gets fed up with people’s bullshit, and she goes up to them and launches into a well-worded rant in public.

THOSE are shows I’m sure women would love to watch.

And even if that doesn’t happen, how about throwing in some “DIY” shows – I’m sure they’re are women who would love to know how to fix things around the house on their own, I fix things around my home, so why can’t a woman? Or how about showing some classic shows that really do empower women:

“Alias”

“Xena – Warrior Princess”

“Buffy the Vampire Slayer”
the list goes on. OH! There was a show that aired on the Oxygen Network called “Talk Sex with Sue Johansson” – that show can do a TON of good on Lifetime. There are so many women you have trouble having orgasms and/or enjoying sex, and that show would do wonders.

Even better, how about giving Author/Writer/Sex Expert Anna David her own show? Beautiful, Smart and witty – it’s a triple win people.

I know those all sound like good ideas, and I also know that they will most likey stay like that: an idea.

Lifetime TV has been on the air for 27 years and counting, all while maintaining a strong viewer audience – “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” would mainly be the response I would get if I even suggested some of these ideas to the network.

But you gotta admit – they are some pretty good ideas.

Laters…

One thought on ““Television for Women” ??? Yeah Right.

  1. Anna David should have her own show..I am so lucky..no trouble with orgasms…even multiple..:)

Leave a comment